How to Delete Facebook Story (Steps Explained with Photos)

How to Delete Facebook Story

Delete Facebook Story

Have you just published a new Facebook story and found a problem with it? No worries, you can delete Facebook stories even before they disappear after 24 hours.

Around 500 million people are using FB Story feature with wacky backgrounds, emojis, texts, photos, and music and thus it has tremendous potential to reach a massive audience. This is the reason many companies are creating Facebook stories to promote their products, services, and deals.

So, if you have just published your Facebook story campaign post and found a spelling error or something else that you don’t want to show it to your audience then removing it would be the best idea.

Here I will share how to delete Facebook Story in just a few steps both on desktop and mobile app.

How to Delete Facebook Story Step by Step?

To delete a photo or video you have shared on Facebook Story, follow the below steps –

  1. First, go to the Stories at the top of the News Feed section on your Facebook Home screen.
  2. Click on your Story.
  3. Find the photo or video you want to delete and click on it.
  4. Click on three horizontal dots showing on the top right side.
  5. Select Delete Photo or Delete Video.
Delete Photo or Video from Story on Facebook
Delete Photo or Video from Story on Facebook

Done, your story on Facebook will be deleted instantly. Now, you can edit your story and re-publish it again.

How to Delete My Story on Facebook Messenger?

Deleting a Facebook Story will also remove it on Facebook Messenger automatically.

You don’t have to go to each contact on Messenger to delete a story manually.

In case, if you are looking for how to delete multiple messages on messenger.

How to Remove Story from Facebook Permanently?

Deleted FB stories will be archived. It means, your audience cannot see it but you can find deleted Facebook stories in the Archive section. To delete a story on Facebook permanently, you also need to remove it from the Story Archive as well.

Follow the below steps to delete a Facebook story from the archive –

  1. Click on Your Story.
  2. Click on Archive from the right side menu.
  3. In the new tab, a list of archived stories will appear.
  4. Select the story you want to delete.
  5. Click on three dots.
  6. Select Delete Photo or Delete Video.
Delete Facebook Story Archive
Delete Facebook Story Archive

This is how you can delete your story on Facebook permanently.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Can I Delete Someone Else’s Facebook Story?

You cannot delete someone’s story on Facebook. If you don’t want to see someone else’s story then just mute it. Click on her/his story > click on three dots > select Mute (Person’s Name). Now, it will not show on your Stories Section.

Where is the Stories Section on Facebook?

Facebook Stories show on the top of the Facebook News Feed. It is the first section of your Facebook Home Screen where your story will be the first in the section followed by recently updated stories of your friends.

How Long Do Facebook Stories Last?

Photos and videos you share on the Facebook story will be available to the public for 24 hours only. Later, you can re-share the same story or can store it in the archive. Archived stories will be viewed by you only.

Wrapping it up…

In brief, this was all about how to delete Facebook story on desktop (Windows or Mac) and mobile (Android or iPhone). It will allow you to put down the story that has some problem so that you can edit it properly and re-share the story again.

Keep sharing your moments with your Facebook friends.

Written by Nikul Patel

I am the sole founder of this technology blog where I write and share information about different tech tricks, hacks, and gadget reviews. Through this blog, I have tried to turn my passion for technology into a way to help people fix their gadget glitches.