How to Delete a Retweet on Twitter In Just Few Seconds?

Delete a Retweet

Delete a Retweet

Have you retweeted a wrong tweet mistakenly or are you trying to remove retweets from your profile? Whatever may be the case, knowing how to delete a retweet on Twitter will do the job. As Twitter doesn’t have any dedicated delete button for retweets and thus sometimes deleting retweets might be a confusing task for many.

If you are one of those who don’t know how to delete retweets, then follow below below instruction –

To delete a retweet, go to your profile and scroll to the tweet you retweeted, click on green retweet icon and select Undo Retweet.

It will remove your retweet and your followers cannot see that deleted retweet.

Retweet a is an act of re-posting of a Tweet. Using this feature, you can share any tweet of your account or of someone else with your followers. Retweets look almost similar to regular tweets except Retweet icon showing on the top of the tweet you retweeted with your name.

Check snapshot below to understand how retweet looks like –

Retweeted Tweet
Retweeted Tweet

To erase such retweets you should know the steps of how to undo a retweet.

How to Delete a Retweet on Twitter Step by Step

Follow below steps to delete retweet using desktop and mobile –

  1. Go to Twitter.com on your desktop browser or open Twitter mobile app
  2. Login to your Twitter account
  3. Go to your profile
  4. Scroll to the retweeted tweet you want to remove
  5. Tap on green Retweet Icon
  6. Select Undo Retweet

Done, you have successfully deleted a retweet. Now, your followers cannot see those deleted retweets on your Twitter timeline.

Can I Delete All Retweets on Twitter?

Twitter doesn’t have any facility to delete all retweets at once.

Still, you can erase all retweeted tweets from your Twitter profile using retweet deleter tools like CircleBoom and Tweetdeleter.

However, to delete all retweets using such Retweet deleter tools will need you to upgrade to their premium plans. Check below –

Retweet Deleter Tools Plans to Delete All Retweets
Retweet Deleter Tools Plans to Delete All Retweets

How to Remove Multiple Retweets in Bulk at Once for Free?

As twitter don’t offer any feature to browse tweets based on types of Tweets, Retweets, or replies, since it is always a hassle when it comes to delete multiple retweets at once. Manually deleting retweets one at a time will eat up too much time if you have hundreds retweets to delete.

Thus, using retweet deleter tools will browse your Twitter profile for you and make the job easy for you.

For this tutorial, I am giving an example of CircleBoom, as it let users delete multiple retweets in bulk in one click for free.

Follow below steps to delete multiple retweets in bulk –  

Remove Multiple Retweets in Bulk at Once for Free Using Circleboom
Remove Multiple Retweets in Bulk at Once for Free Using Circleboom
  1. Go to circleboom.com
  2. Login to your account. If you don’t have an account, then create one and sign in to it.
  3. Connect your Twitter account with Circleboom
  4. Go to My Tweets from the left panel
  5. Select Delete RTs
  6. Next, select Retweets you want to delete from the list of your RTs
  7. Hit the Delete Selected RTs button

Done, it will erase all selected retweets at once. Take a note, you cannot recover deleted retweets so use this tool carefully.

Frequently Asked Questions

How to Turn Off Retweets for Everyone?

Turning off retweets for everyone will stop someone from retweeting your tweets. To turn it off, click on More > Settings and Privacy > Privacy and Safety > Mute and Block > Muted Words. Now, click on + sign, enter “RT @” and Save. It will disable retweet feature for everyone.  

Can Someone See If you Undo a Retweet?

No, when you undo retweet it will disappear from your profile and your followers cannot see it on your timeline. However, it will not delete the original Tweet though.

Why Can I No Longer See My Retweet?

There are few reasons you are not seeing your retweets and it includes, the author may delete the original tweet or the account of the author might be suspended or deleted. In such conditions, your retweets are no longer available to see.

Wrapping it up…

In brief, following above steps will help you to delete retweets in just few seconds so that your timeline will not clogged with outdated, misleading, or some awkward retweets you did previously or mistakenly.

Written by Nikul Patel

I am the sole founder of this technology blog where I write and share information about different tech tricks, hacks, and gadget reviews. Through this blog, I have tried to turn my passion for technology into a way to help people fix their gadget glitches.